RSS Feed

Captivated

‘Cast off your burdens and be captivated by Him’

God loves it when we throw off everything that’s worrying us, the anxieties and stress of everyday life and just look at Him. My natural tendency when I pray is to start with a little ‘thank you’ and then launch into a sob story good enough to get me on the X-Factor about how miserable and pressurised my life is; finances this and work that. While it is totally acceptable to cry out to God for help and to reach out to Him when scared or troubled, I am often reminded of how wonderful it is to ‘cast my burdens’ onto Jesus and just be captivated by Him. To spend time with the One who knows me better than I know myself, who knows my thoughts before I think them and my emotions before I feel them. To be still before God. It’s a wonderful thing, and it calms me down. Yes the hardships are still there, and yes the money still isn’t there, but somehow it all pales in comparison to the wonder of God. Somehow focussing on the One who can solve the problems instead of the problems themselves, helps put things in perspective a bit. We’re not living for the things of this world. We’re not cruising down the road of life for our own pleasure and with no purpose at all. No! There’s a greater calling, a higher purpose. And that is to bring glory to God. So funnily enough, my problems a) don’t seem so important anymore and b) don’t seem so impossible to solve anymore. My God is big, and I am captivated.

 

One response »

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! :) I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

    Reply

Leave a Reply

