RSS Feed

Spiritual Depression: a review

Spiritual Depression by Dr. Martyn Lloyd-Jones (a review)

It’s not often that I’m inspired to write a review, especially when I haven’t finished the book yet but I think that this book is so relevant and helpful, I can’t not write about it! Spiritual Depression by Dr. Martyn Lloyd-Jones surprised me completely. I’ll admit I was a little reluctant to start reading it as I assumed it was for people who struggle with depression (which I don’t) – but don’t be fooled by the title! As George Verwer says in the foreword: “The title may have confused or frightened some people…This book is really a mini encyclopaedia on how to know God and to walk with God”. The Bible says in Colossians 3:1 that we should be seeking ‘things above’ and this totally includes seeking intimacy with God. Jeremiah 9:24 says “This is what the Lord says: ‘Let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me'”. This book provides practical advice for everyone, as well as discussing important theological ideologies on a deeper level. I am usually a very fast reader but the reason that this particular book is taking me so long is purely down to the fact that I can’t help but sink my teeth into every sentence of liberating truth and the overall juiciness of the gospel. I linger purposefully to think and pray through it all in relation to my life. I will happily and wholeheartedly say that this book is relevant for YOU. It will challenge you, inspire you, encourage you, teach you and motivate you to keep pursuing intimacy with God.

Buy this book in The UK and Europe; The USA; South Africa; India or Google it!

3 responses »

  1. I love this book. It is a fantastic counterpoint aginst the modern view of emotion. brilliant.

    Reply
  2. Totally agree with you on the book and the title…

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Don’t Listen to Yourself, Talk to Yourself. [Lloyd-Jones: Spiritual Depression] | E's Journal

Leave a Reply

