RSS Feed

A Challenge to Love

“And regardless of what else you put on, wear love. It’s your basic, all-purpose garment. Never be without it.” – Colossians 3:14 (MSG)

This verse hits me so hard every time I read it. As a girl, I do concentrate somewhat on what I put on in the morning; clothes, make-up, perfume etc, but how many times do I pay attention to preparing my heart for the day? I should wake up in the morning and prepare myself not for who is going to notice my appearance throughout the day but for who is going to notice my attitude, my heart towards others, the way that I love people. Because everything that we, as Christians, do reflects and represents Christ and we have to make a conscious decision every morning about whether we are going to represent Him in a positive or negative way. For me, it is all about an attitude of love. Jesus did not live His life judging and condemning those around Him, like so many of us are tempted to do, He simply loved. And unlike us, Jesus knew exactly what was going on in everyone’s lives whether it was public knowledge or not. We, however, have no idea what someone is going through. We don’t necessarily know their story, their past, sometimes even their present so how could we, as messed up people ourselves, possibly condemn and judge them for how they talk or act or dress or the statements that they make? I believe that this verse is a challenge to commit to love unconditionally, without condemnation or a sense of superiority. We are instructed to never be without love. So the next time that someone cuts in front of you while you’re driving or treats you harshly or acts mad or stand-offish,  bear in mind that you have no idea what they’re going through or what they have gone through to make them that way and simply love.

Leave a Reply

