RSS Feed

Morning Glory Muffins – a new favorite!

Morning Glory Muffins!

I am so excited about this recipe I could burst! I found this on Pinterest and couldn’t wait to try them. They are healthy, filling, loaded with fiber and so delish! One thing that I love the most about these muffins (other than the fabulous taste) is that they freeze very well so I literally bagged them in separate ZipLock bags and popped them in the freezer and every morning since then when I get out of bed I take one out and leave it to thaw for a few minutes while I’m getting dressed, stick it in the microwave for 20 seconds and have a wholesome, healthy and delicious breakfast all ready for me! Here is the recipe, I promise you will love it:

Morning Glory Muffins

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour

1 1/4 cups sugar

1 tbsp ground cinnamon

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup shredded, sweetened coconut

3/4 cup raisins (or dried cranberries)

1 large apple, peeled and grated

1 cup (8oz) crushed pineapple, drained

2 cups carrots, peeled and grated

1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts or pecans

3 large eggs

1 cup vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla extract

Prep!

Directions: Place a rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking soda and salt. Add the coconut, raisins, apple, pineapple, carrots, and nuts. Stir to combine. In a separate bowl, whisk the eggs with the oil and vanilla. Pour into the bowl with the dry ingredients and blend well. Spoon the batter into muffin tins lined with cupcake wrappers/muffin cups, filling each to the brim. Bake for 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Cool muffins in the pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a rack to finish cooling.

Muffins in the freezer!

One response »

  1. Anita Pruett

    I have had these muffins and they are very good. My sister introduced me to them. She made a point to tell me not to eat too many at once since they are so full of fiber.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

