RSS Feed

Pleasant Words

“Pleasant words are like honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones.” – Proverbs 16:24

I am on a quest of kindness. Kindness towards my husband, kindness towards my friends, my colleagues, and strangers too. A kind word can change the direction of someone’s day – they ‘sweeten the soul’ and ‘heal the bones’. One thing I have noticed is that my kind words towards others change the direction of my own day too! A conscious effort to be kind is also an effort to be Christ-like and if we are actively pursuing being like Jesus in little things throughout the day, how much more is our desire to be like Him sweetening our own souls and healing our own bones? By extending grace and kindness and love to others, we see the blessings and benefits of those actions in our own lives too.

So this is my challenge to you today: show a little kindness. It doesn’t have to be over-the-top or forced, sometimes just a simple smile to another driver on the road or a ‘Have a nice day’ to the girl working the checkout is all you need to do. Others around you may not see your kindness and commend you for it, but God sees everything and that my friends is the most rewarding acknowledgement of all.

Leave a Reply

