RSS Feed

Separating our circumstances from our identity in Christ

Have you ever felt hardpressed on every side? You turn one way, and you’re pressed. You turn the other way and it’s the same deal. It’s so easy to let that get you down and I come so close to wallowing in my circumstances all the time! No matter how wonderful your walk with Jesus is there will always be trials and hardships that you have to face. So how on earth do we react without anxiety, without anger, without defeat and discouragement? We have to learn to separate our circumstances from our identity in Christ.

One of Satan’s biggest delights is when we allow our current situation to overshadow who we truly are in Christ. It’s a mind game that we have to learn to win. So often we make a mistake, or face an issue and allow the results to shape the way we see ourselves – “I’m such a bad mom” // “I was doing so well but of course I had to ruin everything” // “I am not worth all this trouble” // “I am destined for failure”. These statements (or similar ones) are so common in the midst of troublesome or stressful circumstances but there is a flaw in each of them: the word “I”. We have to train our minds to replace those “I” statements with God – “GOD has called me to be an excellent mom” // “GOD makes all things new and won’t let me go to ruin” // “GOD has deemed me worthy enough to send His son to die for me” // “GOD has a perfect plan for my life, one of prosperity and growth”. In reshifting the focus from us onto God, Satan is automatically defeated in this area. We remind ourselves that God is in control, that He has specific plans for everyone, that He is enough for us.

Here are some verses to remind us as we separate our circumstances from our identity:

See how very much our Father loves us, for he calls us his children, and that is what we are! – 1 John 3:1

And since we are his children, we are his heirs. In fact, together with Christ we are heirs of God’s glory. – Romans 8:17

But the person who is joined to the Lord is one spirit with him. – 1 Corinthians 6:17

“You didn’t choose me. I chose you. I appointed you to go and produce lasting fruit, so that the Father will give you whatever you ask for, using my name.” – John 15:16

Look, I have given you authority over all the power of the enemy, and you can walk among snakes and scorpions and crush them. Nothing will injure you. – Luke 10:19

Leave a Reply

