RSS Feed

Psalm 119 – From a Chore to a Privilege

For previous posts in this series, click here.

Keep me from lying to myself; give me the privilege of knowing Your instructions. – Psalm 119:29 (NLT)

How often do our minds misconstrue the truth? Maybe it’s just a girl thing, but I know that I have to work hard at controlling and transforming the way I think because my mind can exaggerate, misinterpret and project things that simply aren’t true. I think that everyone is in danger of lying to themselves if they’re not careful. We justify sin – “This isn’t really sinning, it’s kind of on the line” “If I tell this little white lie, no one will find out anyway and God knows that my intentions are good”. Uh oh. Big uh oh. Not only have you just lied, but you’ve lied to yourself. Lord, keep us from lying to ourselves! This should be such an easy thing to do – we shouldn’t have to guard against ourselves but unfortunately the nature of our hearts is a sinful one. So what does the word tell us to do in Psalm 119:29? It tells us to ask God for the privilege of knowing His instructions. First of all, being able to read God’s word in our own language – being able to read at all! – is a huge privilege. We need to stop thinking of time spent in the scripture as a chore, and we need to train our hearts to see it as a privilege! For years I struggled with this, and only when I asked God to plant the desire to dive into His word on a daily basis did my mind state changing towards being honored to read the Bible. My challenge to you today is this: pray that God would change your perception of reading the Bible from a chore to a privilege and start enjoying and living out the wonderful truths that can be found there!

 

Leave a Reply

