Memorizing Scripture – Verse 2

The man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence indeed is the Lord, is blessed – Jeremiah 17:7 (HCSB)

For those of you who haven’t read the story behind why I’m memorizing scripture so fervently, you can find it HERE.

In context, this scripture is so perfect for what Chris and I are going through right now. We are facing big transitions in every aspect of our life together and at times it would be easy to trust in the things of this world instead of God. The verses preceding this one talk about what happens when man trusts in mankind. Verse 5 says “The man who trusts in mankind, who makes human flesh his strength and turns his heart from the Lord, is cursed”. It’s the exact opposite of verse 7! After verse 7 it goes on to say that if you trust in the Lord, you will be like a tree planted by water, with strong roots, no fear, and fruit aplenty. When you experience drought, you won’t worry. I chose verse 7 to memorize from January 15 to February 1 because I want so desperately to truly trust in the Lord, and experience the peace of mind and blessings that come from full confidence in Him. I have already been able to use this verse over and over again whenever my mind wanders to anxiety and uncertainty about different things. I love that I’m experiencing firsthand the benefits of memorizing scripture and of using these verses to fight against things not of God! Be encouraged to start your own journey of memorization too.  

Leave a comment